Bloggy Book Giveaway: Let’s Play FREEZE TAG!

Tags.  Those super handy little post-its that improve internet traffic.  The alphabeticy boogie boards that help us surf the waves of information.  We all use them, to ensure our posts show up when random surfers out there are googling the various topics of our expertise.  But do you ever really look at the tags assigned to the posts you’re reading?

Usually the answer is no.  Probably even if you’re reading one of my blog posts.  But if you really know me, you will realize that sometimes, even the tiniest details – such as tags – are part of the joke for me.

On many of my posts, I have used tags that sometimes have nothing at all to do with the content of that post.  It’s my own inside joke, knowing someone who googles ‘sequins’ will end up at my New Years Apocalyptic post.  Or that someone looking to learn about ‘blue footed boobies’ will wind up with a politically fueled rant.  (And how appropriate is that, might I add?)  In fact, I usually have a good laugh at my misappropriated taggings.

Now it’s your turn.

FREEZE TAG – How it’s played:

1.  You will be given a CLUE, which will lead you to an irrelevant tag on one of my posts.  The clue maybe a sentence, a jingle, a picture… but there will be a tag that fits it.  Whatever post you find that tag on, is the post that holds the answer.

2.  I will also be giving you a WORD.  Count the words (starting at the beginning of the post itself – not including the title or tags) until you reach the number I’ve given you.  The word that is that number is the answer I’m looking for.

3.  Come back to the current Freeze Tag post, and leave a comment with your answer.  Please do NOT mention which post it is in, cause obviously you and I will already know that… *winkwink*

4.  When the contest finishes, I will assign all the correct answers a number (based on the order in which they are received.)  Then your numbers will be put in to the random selector, RANDOM.ORG.  That will determine the winner!

FOR EXAMPLE:

The CLUE is:  “A coffee house specialty.”
Word  6

If you look at my previous post, There’s Jackalope in Them There Blog!, you will notice the list of tags directly beneath the title.  Among those tags is ‘cafe au lait’, a popular coffee beverage available at any coffee shop.  Once you’ve found the tag, go to the post and count the words.  Word 6 is ‘Jackalope’.  And that is the answer.

Sounds easy, right?

And for your benefit:

– I will NOT be using the previous post in my clues, so you can automatically disregard that post when tag hunting.

– The word count will be under 50, so you won’t have to sit there counting words all afternoon.

– If the clue is too difficult, I will post a second clue to help.  (But let’s face it, I ain’t the deepest bulb in the tool shed, so I don’t ‘think’ the clues will be too hard.)

– I will ship your prize to anywhere in the United States for free – if you live outside the US, I will split the cost of shipping with you 50/50.

The first contest will be posted THIS FRIDAY, June 20, at 9:00 pm est.  It will end the following Friday, at 9:00 pm est.  I will announce the lucky winner at 10:00 pm est that night.

Leave a Reply

